-A  +A          

Good Day! Friday, 24 September 2021

Our Team

Air Traffic Management

Air Traffic Management

IStock 931559254 1
Air Traffic Control Tower in Malaysia
  • State

CAAM Kedah

Sultan Abdul Halim Airport
06550 Alor Setar
Kedah Darul Aman

CAAM Johor

Senai International Airport
81250 Johor Bharu, Johor


Sultan Azlan Shah Airport
31350 Ipoh, Perak

CAAM Melaka

Melaka International Airport
75350 Batu Berendam

CAAM Kuala Terengganu

Sultan Mahmud Airport
21300 Kuala Terengganu

CAAM Kerteh

Kerteh Airport
24300 Kerteh

CAAM Pulau Tioman

Pulau Tioman Airport
63, Jalan Sulaiman,
86800 Mersing, Pahang

CAAM Regional Office Sabah

Jalan Bunga Raya, Kepayan
Beg Berkunci 2065
88618 Kota Kinabalu

Air Traffic Control Centre Kota Kinabalu

Jalan Kepayan,
88100 Kota Kinabalu,

CAAM Sandakan

Cawangan Sandakan
90008 Sandakan

CAAM Lahad Datu

Cawangan Lahad Datu
91108 Lahad Datu

CAAM Tawau

Cawangan Tawau
91007 Tawau

CAAM Regional Office Sarawak

Kuching International Airport
93250 Kuching,


Cawangan Miri
98000 Miri

CAAM Bintulu

Cawangan Bintulu
97200 Bintulu


Cawangan Sibu
96007 Sibu

CAAM Limbang

Cawangan Limbang
98700 Limbang

CAAM Marudi

Cawangan Limbang
98700 Limbang

CAAM Lawas

Cawangan Lawas
98850 Lawas

CAAM Mukah

Cawangan Mukah
96400 Mukah

CAAM Langkawi

Langkawi International Airport
07100 Padang Matsirat
Pulau Langkawi

CAAM Kelantan

Sultan Ismail Petra Airport,
Pengkalan Chepa, 16100 Kota Bharu,

CAAM Penang

Penang International Airport,
11900 Bayan Lepas
Pulau Pinang

CAAM Flight Calibration

Sultan Abdul Aziz Shah Airport
47200 Subang, Selangor


Kuala Lumpur International Airport
64000 KLIA, Sepang
Selangor Darul Ehsan

CAAM Regional Office Peninsular Malaysia

Sultan Abdul Azizi Shah Airport
47200 Subang, Selangor

Subang Air Traffic Control Tower

Sultan Abdul Azizi Shah Airport
47200 Subang, Selangor

Kuala Lumpur Air Traffic Control Centre

Sultan Abdul Aziz Shah Airport
47200 Subang, Selangor


Nasuruddin Bin Zainul Abidin

Director of Air Traffic Management Division

The Air Traffic Management Division is the largest sector in the Civil Aviation Authority of Malaysia. There are 1149 Air Traffic Controllers and 201 administrative personnel in this sector, located throughout Malaysia. The Director of ATM Division is supported by Regional Director I (Peninsular Malaysia), Regional Director II (Sabah), Regional Director III (Sarawak), Director of KLIA and Director of KL Air Traffic Control Centre in the functionality of the sector.

The ATM Division is administered in two levels; headquarters and operations. The headquarters is located in Putrajaya while operations are located at various stations within Peninsular and East Malaysia. The Malaysian airspace is divided into the Kuala Lumpur and Kota Kinabalu Flight Information Regions (FIR). where operations are associated with air traffic control units. There are 2 air traffic control centres; in Kuala Lumpur and Kota Kinabalu, a sub-centre in Kuching as well as 12 Control Towers in Peninsular Malaysia, 4 in Sabah and 8 in Sarawak.

The Air Traffic Management Division is responsible for the provision of air traffic service for the safe and efficient conduct of flight within Malaysian airspace pursuant to the Chicago Convention 1947. Air Traffic Service is a generic term which encompasses air traffic control, advisory, flight information and alerting service.

The ICAO standard and recommended practices (SARPS) associated with the responsibility of ATM sector are those contained in

  • Annex 1 – Personnel licensing,
  • Annex 2 – Rules of the Air,
  • Annex 3 – Meteorological Service for International Air Navigation
  • Annex 4 – Aeronautical Charts,
  • Annex 5 – Units of Measurement to be used in Air and Ground Operations,
  • Annex 10 – Aeronautical Telecommunications
  • Annex 11 – Air Traffic Services,
  • Annex 12 – Search and Rescue,
  • Annex 14 – Aerodromes; and
  • Annex 15 – Aeronautical Information Services.

Other relevant documents are DOC 4444 – Air Traffic Management Procedures for Air Navigation, DOC 9859 – Safety
Management System Manual, CIR 314 – Threat and Error Management (TEM), DOC 9910 – Normal Operations Safety
Survey (NOSS), Doc 9426 – Air Traffic Services Planning Manual and DOC 9683 – Human Factors Manual.

In accomplishing its function the ATM Division carry out various activities at headquarters and operations levels,
inclusive of:

  • Aeronautical Information Publication (AIP)
  • Aeronautical Information Services (AIS)
  • Airspace Planning and Management
  • Communication, Navigation and Surveillance (CNS) facilities
  • Collection of Air Navigation Facilities Charge (ANFC).
  • Development of flight procedures
  • Human resource management,
  • Development of ATC procedures
  • Safety management
  • Search and Rescue(SAR) and Air Safety
  • Performance Based Navigation (PBN)
  • ICAO Standard and Audit
  • Training of Air Traffic Controllers
  • Approach Radar Control service
  • Area Radar Control service
  • Approach Procedure Control service
  • Area Procedure Control service
  • Aerodrome Control service
  • Flight Information service
  • Aeronautical Mobile Service
  • Search and Rescue Coordinating service
International Airport Facilities, Malaysia, (Kemudahan Lapangan Terbang Antarabangsa, Malaysia)
CAAM CAAM Virtual Agent