-A  +A          

Good Day! Monday, 4 December 2023

Our Team

Air Navigation Services Technical

Air Navigation Services Technical

IStock 931559254 1
Air Traffic Control Tower in Malaysia
  • State

Kuala Lumpur Air Traffic Control Centre (KLATCC)

Jalan CTA 3 (KLIA),
Kuala Lumpur International Airport,
64000 KLIA,Sepang, Selangor,Darul Ehsan.

CAAM Kedah

CAAM Complex Sultan Abdul Halim Airport
06550 Alor Setar
Kedah Darul Aman

CAAM Johor

Senai International Airport
81250 Johor Bharu, Johor


Sultan Azlan Shah Airport
31350 Ipoh, Perak

CAAM Melaka

Melaka International Airport
75350 Batu Berendam

CAAM Kuala Terengganu

Sultan Mahmud Airport
21300 Kuala Terengganu

CAAM Kerteh

Kerteh Airport
24300 Kerteh

CAAM Pulau Tioman

Pulau Tioman Airport
63, Jalan Sulaiman,
86800 Mersing, Pahang

CAAM Regional Office Sabah

Jalan Bunga Raya, Kepayan
Beg Berkunci 2065
88618 Kota Kinabalu

Air Traffic Control Centre Kota Kinabalu

Jalan Kepayan,
88100 Kota Kinabalu,

CAAM Sandakan

Cawangan Sandakan
90008 Sandakan

CAAM Lahad Datu

Cawangan Lahad Datu
91108 Lahad Datu

CAAM Tawau

Cawangan Tawau
91007 Tawau

CAAM Regional Office Sarawak

Kuching International Airport
93250 Kuching,


Cawangan Miri
98000 Miri

CAAM Bintulu

Cawangan Bintulu
97200 Bintulu


Cawangan Sibu
96007 Sibu

CAAM Limbang

Cawangan Limbang
98700 Limbang

CAAM Marudi

Cawangan Limbang
98700 Limbang

CAAM Lawas

Cawangan Lawas
98850 Lawas

CAAM Mukah

Cawangan Mukah
96400 Mukah

CAAM Langkawi

Langkawi International Airport
07100 Padang Matsirat
Pulau Langkawi

CAAM Kelantan

Sultan Ismail Petra Airport,
Pengkalan Chepa, 16100 Kota Bharu,

CAAM Penang

Penang International Airport,
11900 Bayan Lepas
Pulau Pinang

CAAM Flight Calibration

Sultan Abdul Aziz Shah Airport
47200 Subang, Selangor


Kuala Lumpur International Airport
64000 KLIA, Sepang
Selangor Darul Ehsan

CAAM Regional Office Peninsular Malaysia

Jalan CTA 3 (KLIA),
Kuala Lumpur International Airport,
64000 KLIA,Sepang, Selangor,Darul Ehsan.

Subang Air Traffic Control Tower

Sultan Abdul Azizi Shah Airport
47200 Subang, Selangor

Director of Air Navigation Services Technical Division

In 1985, the Inspectorate Unit was established, under the Air Traffic Services (ATS) Division, Department of Civil Aviation (DCA) with the objective to ensure that air traffic controllers (ATCOs) possess the knowledge, experience, competence, skill, physical and mental fitness in accordance with the provisions of ICAO Annex 1 to the Chicago Convention – Personnel Licensing. However, only the function of air traffic control (ATC) examinations was conducted by the Unit due to various constraints at that time. Subsequently, the licensing of ATCOs commenced on the 01.11.1990; this requirement (Malaysia Civil Aviation Regulations 1996, regulation 92) is applicable to all ATCOs in DCA, including the Royal Malaysian Air Force (RMAF), in particular for ATCOs who control civil traffic.

In view of the Unit’s increased activities related to additional scope of job functions and responsibilities in ATS, the Unit was upgraded to a Division in 2002. The newly established ATS Inspectorate Division comprised of suitably qualified ATCOs who were selected based on their specific work experience, knowledge and attributes.

Following the ICAO Universal Safety Oversight Audit Programme (USOAP) in 2005, other than the safety oversight of ATS, the functions and responsibilities of the ATS Inspectorate Division were expanded to include safety oversight in the other areas of air navigation services (ANS), namely Procedures for ANS-Aircraft Operations (PANS-OPS), Aeronautical Information Services (AIS), Aeronautical Charts (CHART), Communication Navigation and Surveillance (CNS), Aeronautical Meteorology (MET) and Search and Rescue (SAR). The renamed Air Traffic Inspectorate Division was vested with regulatory responsibility to ensure that the ANS providers implement ANS-related provisions in accordance with the national legislations and all ANS-related ICAO Annexes, namely Annex 1 Personnel Licensing (ATC licensing and ATC-ATO portions only), Annex 2 Rules of the Air, Annex 3 Meteorological Service for International Air Navigation, Annex 4 Aeronautical Charts, Annex 10 Aeronautical Telecommunications, Annex 11 Air Traffic Services, Annex 12 Search & Rescue, Annex 15 AIS, and including Annex 5 Units of Measurement to be used in Air and Ground Operations.

In April 2015, the regulatory functions of the Inspectorate were further re-aligned to focus on the safety oversight of the ANS providers for ATS, PANS-OPS, AIS, CHART, MET and SAR excluding CNS (which is now vested with the Airport Standards Division). Consequently, the applicable ICAO Annexes that relate to the Inspectorate’s safety oversight functions are Annex 1 Personnel Licensing (ATC licensing portion only), Annex 2 Rules of the Air, Annex 3 Meteorological Service for International Air Navigation, Annex 4 Aeronautical Charts (Instrument Chart portion only),
Annex 11 Air Traffic Services, Annex 12 Search & Rescue, Annex 15 AIS and Annex 19 Safety Management (ATS portion only).

(Note : all references below to ANS shall exclude CNS).

On 19 February 2018, DCA has been transformed as the Civil Aviation Authority of Malaysia (CAAM), a Federal Government Statutory Body.

New Posts Approval Letter No. K 7/2019 was approved on the 01 March 2019, the Air Traffic Inspectorate Division has been renamed as Air Navigation Services Standards Division (AND).

The AND is the regulatory body that oversees the provision of ANS by the ANS providers to ensure compliance with the national legislations, namely the Civil Aviation Act 1969 and the Civil Aviation Regulations 2016, together with its related ICAO Annexes to the Chicago Convention and ICAO Docs.

Civil Aviation Authority Malaysia (CAAM)
Privacy Policy
CAAM CAAM Virtual Agent